Apart from its convenience, WhatsApp is also sometimes very annoying. Be it forward full of false information, persistent unwanted messages, or privacy issues, there are many reasons to permanently disable WhatsApp. This guide will cover everything you need to know and explain how to delete your WhatsApp account forever. Before we get to the actual process, let’s understand what exactly is involved.
What Happens When You Delete Your WhatsApp Account?
When you permanently delete your WhatsApp account:
- Your chat history is completely erased.
- You are removed from all of your WhatsApp groups, including those that are your admin.
- Your WhatsApp iCloud backup will be deleted. This means you will not be able to restore the chat later.
- You will no longer receive any messages.
- Your profile picture and About section will no longer be displayed.
- The photos and videos you receive will be lost unless you save them manually (or your WhatsApp settings are activated to save all photos automatically to the Camera Roll.)
- Messages and media that you have sent will remain unaffected on the recipient’s cellphone.
As proven from the points above, deleting your WhatsApp account is an extreme measure that removes all your information. Before you do that, you might want to look at two options that aren’t too severe.
Alternative to Delete WhatsApp Account
This will delete the WhatsApp application, but all chats, media and more will still be stored locally on your iPhone.
To uninstall an Application, open the Settings app → tap General → tap iPhone Storage. Now, wait a few seconds and then tap WhatsApp → Next, tap Unload Apps and confirm.
Whenever you want to start using WhatsApp again, tap the application icon from the Home screen. After the download is complete, you can use WhatsApp as before.
Uninstall / Remove Application
Before continuing to delete WhatsApp, make sure you back up WhatsApp chat in iCloud. This will help you recover everything when you decide to use this application again.
To uninstall, touch and hold the WhatsApp icon. Next, tap Remove Apps and confirm.
After uninstalling or unpacking: You will not receive any messages. Senders will only see one check when they send you a message. However, your profile picture, about, etc. Shown, as normal. You will also continue to be part of the existing WhatsApp group.
Do you still want to delete your account? Here are the steps. Take a look.
How to delete your WhatsApp account on iPhone permanently
- Open WhatsApp on your iPhone
- Tap Settings at the bottom of the screen.
- Select Account → Delete Account.
- Enter your full phone number and select Delete my account.
Your account will be permanently deleted, but the application will remain on your iPhone until you delete it.
Can you reactivate your deleted WhatsApp account?
The simple answer is no. You can create a new account with the same phone number and the same iPhone. However, because your iCloud backup has been deleted, you won’t be able to restore any chat or media.
- Open WhatsApp on your iPhone. If you have deleted the application, get it back from the App Store.
- Follow the instructions on the screen and enter your mobile number.
- You will receive a verification code to activate your account.
Once verified, you will have a new WhatsApp account and can send messages to contacts again as usual.
That’s it, buddy!